Archives

The Children’s Book Review Interviews Maureen Grenier, Part I
1:58 pm , May 21, 2014 0

The Children’s Book Review Interviews Maureen Grenier, Part I

This is Part I of the interview of author Maureen Grenier by Bianca Schulze from The Children’s Book Review for The Author Showcase. Bianca Schulze: Your latest book, Someone’s Trapped—a kids’ soccer “whodunit”—is the second book in your Viking Club Mystery series. Can you tell us a little about the series and how you originally {Read More}

Here’s A Summary Of The Press Release For My New Kids’ Mystery
6:45 pm , March 26, 2014 0

Here’s A Summary Of The Press Release For My New Kids’ Mystery

Children will benefit from the critical thinking prompted by ‘Someone’s Trapped,’ a soccer-themed whodunit for kids 8-12 in this second book in the Viking Club Mystery series by Maureen Grenier.

Kids’ Mystery Stories Promote The Use Of Problem-Solving Skills
3:07 pm , March 24, 2014 0

Kids’ Mystery Stories Promote The Use Of Problem-Solving Skills

Parents and teachers try to find books that will interest youngsters so that they will read and more and read better without realizing that mystery stories can not only accomplish this but will encourage critical thinking as well. The difficulty in working with poor readers to improve their reading skills is in figuring out how {Read More}

Win A Sports Mystery for Kids: Someone’s Trapped
9:00 am , March 13, 2014 0

Win A Sports Mystery for Kids: Someone’s Trapped

In my last blog post, I told you about Goodreads, the free website for bookworms and literature lovers through which I’m giving away ten copies of my sports mystery for kids, Someone’s Trapped. This is the second in the Viking Mystery Series and our young detectives have to solve a mystery that takes place in {Read More}

Win The Sports Mystery Someone’s Trapped Through Goodreads
2:10 pm , March 10, 2014 0

Win The Sports Mystery Someone’s Trapped Through Goodreads

Win a free copy of Someone’s Trapped for kids 8-12, the second book in the Viking Club Mystery series, by entering your name in my Goodreads Giveaway, which started March 3 and ends March 17, 2014. You don’t have to join Goodreads and you don’t even have to answer a skill-testing question. Is this easy {Read More}

Viking Club Mystery #2 Is Now Released And Everyone’s Trapped!
5:03 pm , February 28, 2014 0

Viking Club Mystery #2 Is Now Released And Everyone’s Trapped!

Someone’s Trapped, the second book in the Viking Club Mystery series, revolves around the sport of soccer and has just been released. You can buy it now from various sources in hardcover or paperback for fans of Chris, Rebecca, and Jaylon, or for some other young person who likes sports and mysteries and might become {Read More}

The Next Viking Club Mystery Is Coming Soon
8:29 pm , October 17, 2013 0

The Next Viking Club Mystery Is Coming Soon

Someone’s Trapped, the next book in the Viking Club Mystery series, is now with the publisher. Chris, Rebecca, and Jaylon meet again to solve another a mystery while dealing with new personal struggles, this time in a summer soccer setting.

I’ll Solve Your Mystery; You Solve Mine
7:15 am , August 28, 2013 0

I’ll Solve Your Mystery; You Solve Mine

What mystery can I solve for you?  I can help you with the mystery of how to provide meals for your athletes when they can’t be with the family for dinner.  What mystery can you solve for me?  You can help me with the mystery of how to get reviews for my book, which is {Read More}

Reading Fiction Can Reduce A Child’s Bullying Tendencies
8:26 am , August 13, 2013 0

Reading Fiction Can Reduce A Child’s Bullying Tendencies

It is comforting for book lovers to hear about the recent studies in Canada demonstrating that reading fiction offers surprising benefits for human development, including an increase in empathy. As well, fiction readers apparently become more comfortable with uncertainty and their decision-making ability improves.

Do Children’s Classic Mystery Writers Sell In Today’s Market?
7:21 am , July 23, 2013 0

Do Children’s Classic Mystery Writers Sell In Today’s Market?

Do you sometimes wonder if the mystery books you enjoyed as a child would be considered as much fun to read by children today as when you discovered them in your youth? There is no question that there are a lot more books from which to choose today when you are selecting reading material for {Read More}